on Elon Musk

ff_musk3_f

 

Today, instead of talking entertainment stuff, I decided to write about my impression about one of the most influental person in my era (I assume), (also be an-excuse-to-procrastinate-doing-my skripsi)… it’s Elon Musk.

Elon Musk is a business magnate, investor, engineer and inventor according to Wikipedia that blew my mind to what he does for science and humanity. Through his visionary thinking and practical actions he believes that human and also stuff can actually travel to mars and we can have two travelable planet; earth and mars. His ambition making travel to space affordable is what makes me thrilled. Musk invested his US$100 million to his private company, SpaceX.

Now, from this point it’s not just because he’s succesfull with building a space exploration company (because theres-so-many-cringe-succesful-story-on-internet), it’s more likely because the way Musk achives his dreams from a scratch till owning the first private company (private!!!) to send a spacecraft to the International Space Station (ISS) in 2012 and other awesome achivement.

My first ‘meeting’ with Musk through his autobiography book (that I havent read) and through my holy-grail-dream-car Tesla (a brand name of electric car), and yeah Musk is the CEO of Tesla and Space X.

First of all, this writing is probably not fully accurate since I only read 3-4 articles, watch 3 videos of him being interviewed, and reads many comments about him on youtube, and also I haven’t read his autobiography. But, but, from that interview videos, articles, his early age story, his education background and his works, I know that Elon Musk is worth to be called “role model” with #goals #lifegoals #eyeymoney.

The idea of “sending human to space” is very interest me most of the time, because (I believe) it takes courage, non-stop brainstorming, and practicing a living dream.
I read a lil bit of Carl Sagan’s, stories about missing cosmonauts, and extraterrestrial life. I don’t know exactly in what stage do human already acquiring knowledge about space and its’ filling, but the idea of “sending human to space and also stuff” with affordable cost is like the possibility of the current impossibility of science.

I’m enjoying technology as much as I’m enjoying learning about the making of science. I highly appriciate scientists, engineers, experimenters, and numorous jobs that make science into applied things.

Then.. I read and watch what Elon Musk does in progressing astronomical science (in general). How can I not freak out and shout: “Finally! someone making progress in our future history of humankind! not in dirty-political stuff but in technology in explorating universe!” >:D

I honestly feel blessed live in the same era, year, decades, and basically times to what Musk does. I feel glad to be one of the viewers of future ‘shaper’.

Although there are so many criticism about against comercial spaceflight (what Musk’s company developing) including Neil Armstrong and other well-experienced austronauts. In a interview on 60 minutes in 2012 Musk said (with teary eyes): “I was very sad to see that. Because those guys are heroes to mine to its very tough. I wish they would come and visit and see the hard work we’re doing here, and I think they would change their mind.”

I dont know is it just me being overly sensitive about feelings but I know for sure that the idea of making affordable trasportation crossing planets it sounds very bizarre but exciting at the same time. Through Musk I see what people can do is just a matter of human capability. He said “Frankly, though, I think most people can learn a ot more than they think they can”, and carrying human to Mars it’s not impossible things but it also not an easy task to do.

In one of his interview, Musk being asked about his advise to young people whom wanted to and starting up their company, she (the interviewer said) “what’s the balance between imagination and pragmatism basically?”. Musk replied, “… you start off with idea and that idea is mostly wrong and then you adapt that idea and keep refinding it and you listen to criticism some critisism you discard, try to discard wrong criticism try to listen to correct criticism and then engaged to sort of recursive self improvements and constant refinding it make it better an you have to work super hard and thats very important and just keep iterating on a loop which says: am I doing something useful for other people.”

Well, thats not what tumblr-like-motivation quotes. That came from electric car and spaceship company CEO.

Anyway, I like science fiction because I believe it somehow out of reach yet a possible things to reach. I like the idea of travelling freely and no borders, even to space and maybe outer space. From Musk, I learn its really easy to lose sense of wonder becauseas I grew up, I feel I’m getting lost from the real I am, my true self. I see Musk’s ideas in this dusty atmosphere of life is the sign for me to feel (once again) self awareness, to keep wondering, asking, doing my interests, hustling, and expect to be wrong.

In the end, I’m not a fan super hero but Musk’s vision; ideas and acions proved that he is hero, a hero of future humankind, and I’m glad to be part of his unknown supporter in his translation journey.

Interviewer: “What other rules that you want to live by? because it seems that you have broken many rules.”
Elon Musk: “I want to be useful. And what it feel to look back and say that my actions had a good effect on the world.”

Get to know Ellon Musk on: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UxL-0–oQo
and also, Musk’s appear as cameo on Big Bang Theory season 9! Watch his acting skill on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KGR5HP3KSBk

ps: Elon Musk is in the right side of the pic. The right one is Harold Wolowitz a fictional character from Big Bang Theory

Leave a Reply

